Unfortunately, there is no easy way to prevent yourself from being tagged in photos or even approve a photo that has your name attached to it.
By default, everyone in your Friend list can see your photos in Facebook. Additionally all of those friends can tag you in photos. However, you can prevent everyone else reading about the photo you were tagged in.
Go to Account, then Privacy Settings. Then click on Customize Settings.
This will take you to a new page. Scroll down to Things Others Share.
Under Photos and videos I’m tagged in, click Customize. This will let you choose anything from Friends Only to Only Me. If you choose Only Me, then the photos will not show up on your wall or in your album. HOWEVER, THE PHOTOS WILL STILL BE SEEN ON THE ORIGINAL POSTER’S PAGE AND IN THEIR ALBUMS.
In this box you can hide photos from specific people. If you type in a letter, the names will appear and you can select individuals.
Don’t forget, even if you untag yourself, the photo can still be viewed and someone else can go back and tag you again.
Additional information on Photo Tags in Facebook an be found here:
Is there a way to control who can see my Profile Pictures album?
Users are able to view tagged photos of me even though I have restricted access to them.
Is there an option to approve a photo tag before I am tagged in it?
There's a photo of me on Facebook that I want taken down.
Still have questions? Call or e-mail Aurora at 800-392-0532 or firstname.lastname@example.org.